Balance and the Public Servant

103_9529

 

I was recently asked how I balance everything in a very busy life.

*Please participate in my poll at the end of this article*Thank you*

So, the first thing I urge others who ask or are asked this question to understand is, no one has everything under control!  The fact is, humanity relates and learns from struggle and strain.  Its simply part of the learning curve.  And, when you think you’ve learned all you need to know, watch out!  That is the sure path to atrophy and eventual death.

Balance is not a static, continual position.  It is the ideal.  Part of balance in your life is flowing with situations you cannot plan for.  Accepting that balance is actually a fluid and dynamic experience that is more of a cerebral state of mind than a physical state.

The following are my top five things I have found that work for me.   They are in no particular order.

#1     follow your passion

This happens whether you realize it or not, best to embrace your passion and learn how to apply it in the most effective way.

#2     stick to your priorities

My mentor taught me very early on to write down my priorities.  What is really important to me right now.  Then continually revisit and revise as you accomplish items.  I have a ‘short’ list (annual) and a ‘long’ list (5 years).  Also a long view that is like a Master List for 10 to 20 years out.

#3     should, try, and hate are words to avoid

Don’t use them.  Train your brain to use positive words, which relate to positive action.

#4     limit the extra-curricular activities

This is how I protect our young family right now.  I have found that family dinner is very important to maintaining our bond.  I also keep my schedule limited to one or two events that take me away from dinner each week.   This has to be flexible for me, but mostly I do not do evening appointments and when I must be out of town I do not feel guilty.

#5     be happy with less or be satisfied with less

This is vitally important when raising children or if you are in a position of influence with children.  Personal relationships are so important.  We have never had cable TV in our home.  We save money and are forced to spend time together instead of in separate bedrooms.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Very good article Lori! I know from experience it is a tough job to keep all the balls in the air. Becca was only 2 when I started, but I had a lot of family support and a wonderful niece that picked up the slack for me. Even if you don’t see me, know that I do think of you often.

Leave a Reply

