Is Literacy Important In Our Wired World?

I ask this question many times a day.

I see things on social media that are improperly worded or contain spelling errors.

I see employment descriptions containing spelling errors.

I have even seen large highway signs with spelling errors.

I ask ‘How does this happen?’  The answer is that there are fewer and fewer people who CARE about proper English!  Ever more who are in positions of responsibility that do not have the educational background to perform these functions properly.

As one who is always on the lookout for employment opportunities, many companies ask for individuals with college degrees.  So, how does one with a degree not have a basic understanding of the English language?  Does any of this matter anymore, anyway?

I think it depends on who you ask.  My friends who have degrees in English say it is vitally important.  However, the evidence seems to out weigh this opinion.

In this day and age, we have programs that automatically correct typos.  We have social media that frowns on proper language skills and seem to reward creative ‘misspelling’ with thousands of ‘Likes’ for getting your message across with as many errors as possible!

Personally, when I see improperly worded or written items, I completely disregard them!  I lose all respect and even get a little angry.  I may go as far as telling my friends to avoid a business that uses poor English!

However, there are times when this lack of skill works to a business advantage or at the very least does not hurt it.  One example is a restaurant.  Coming from an area close to San Fransisco,  you see this all the time.  Menus from an Asian or East Indian restaurant will often contain spelling errors.  This may bring a smile to hungry patrons lips and in many cases does not negatively affect business.

So, is literacy important?  Is it important to a select few individuals?  Where do you stand on this topic?

Just in case, I have included the Wikipedia definition of literacy!

As always, thank you so much for reading!  I hope you enjoy my thoughts!

Literacy

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

World map indicating literacy by country (2011 Human Development Report) Grey = no data

World illiteracy halved between 1970 and 2005.

“Literacy is the ability to read for knowledge, write coherently, and think critically about the written word.”

Leave a Reply

