The Swimming Deer

8-1-2011 015Did you know that deer swim?

Well, I am a city girl.  This came as a complete shock to me!  Seems like I am stating the obvious, but I just can’t help it!

I am working on a list of amazing creatures that swim.  Deer, bears, and cougars all jump in the water from time to time to get to where they need to be.

As I think about it more and more, my shock turns to Duh!  There are many reasons why an animal may need to swim.  Escape from predators.  Finding food.  Finding a mate.  Maybe idle curiosity.  The desire to see what is around the next corner.

Makes me wonder if animals, undomesticated, get curious.  Are they solely motivated by hunger?  Or the need to reproduce?  Do they ask questions?  Do they desire a more comfortable setting in which to eat berries?

I know my dogs and cats are very curious.  My daughters Bearded Dragon is always checking out his environment.  I understand the driving force of self-preservation.  But, is there a deep driving desire to see around the next corner?

Nature is amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

