When I grow up, I want to be….

 

Have you ever said those words?  When I grow up I want to be…. a Doctor, a Lawyer, and Rock Star!

I think often of the question.  It was one I always seemed to struggle with.  Many of my friends knew at an early age what they wanted to be .  At the very least, they had a direction in mind.

I, however, just wanted to jump in and get started.  Figure it out on the way.

Now, many years later, with children of my own, I wonder what they will want to do and be.  I have come to realize that having the answers does not assure one of the journey.

We spend so much of our time thinking we should be more than we are.  We should be doing great things.  We should be saying great things.  And, I suppose, much of this is true.  It is good to have goals.

However, who we are in this moment is a powerful and amazing force.  I am reminded of great men and women who came before me, that being on a set path is good to be on.  But, the better path is one that works to help others.

I think of President John F. Kennedy often.  I think of the words he used to describe the goals he had for his own life.  The work of service to others.

Now, expand the thought.  Spreading democracy throughout the World is not a selfish idea.  Sharing LIBERTY with others,  is in my opinion,  one of the most important and truly genuine ‘gifts’ we can share.

The road that we choose is not the most important thing we can do.  Choosing to help others in ways that are positive and uplifting are like ripples in a pond.  Ever moving outward, touching and impacting many people and lives.  There can be no better gift.

Now, go out and make someone’s world a little brighter.  Everyday.  Greet strangers and friends alike with a silent prayer for peace and happiness.  Not only will you feel better, you will be spreading that peace with many others and the more you give love, the more you receive love.

In closing, please read the words from Pres. Kennedy’s inaugural address to the Nation in 1961.  Be better!  As always, thank you for reading!

 

“Inaugural Address (1961)

Inaugural address, Washington D.C. (20 January 1961) – (Video file). In his speech President Kennedy urges American citizens to participate in public service and “ask not what your country can do for you–ask what you can do for your country.”

“In the long history of the world, only a few generations have been granted the role of defending freedom in its hour of maximum danger. I do not shrink from this responsibility — I welcome it. I do not believe that any of us would exchange places with any other people or any other generation. The energy, the faith, the devotion which we bring to this endeavor will light our country and all who serve it — and the glow from that fire can truly light the world.
And so, my fellow Americans: ask not what your country can do for you — ask what you can do for your country.
My fellow citizens of the world: ask not what America will do for you, but what together we can do for the freedom of man.”

From Wikiquote.org

IMG_0607

Leave a Reply

