What is your Platform?

Party platform

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

A party platform or platform is a list of the actions which a political party, individual candidate, or other organization supports to appeal to the general public for the purpose of having said peoples’ candidates voted into political office or the professed opinion(s) proposed as part of law(s) or otherwise made into social policies.

This often takes the form of a list of support for, or opposition to, socially relevant, urgent, controversial, or complicated topics or issues. Individual topics, and a party’s, person’s, or organization’s opinion on them are often called the “planks” of their platform in reference to a basic stage made out of boards or planks of wood, similar to what can be assembled for public speaking or debates to be held on.

A party platform is sometimes referred to as a manifesto[1] or a political platform.

 

When I was a little girl, my Father and I would sit together and read the dictionary.  My earliest memories that I have of him are always centered around books.  The Holy Bible, text books, song books (he was a musician and conductor), reference books, non-fiction, fiction (those were always mine), Spanish to English dictionaries, the list goes on and on.  I am writing about this as a peek into why I post so many definitions.   The thirst for knowledge, the need to ask why, was encouraged in my childhood.  Tracing the history of words used commonly in our culture can be an  exciting journey.

So, with that out of the way, I want to discuss my ‘Platform’.  This may shock you, but I don’t really have a platform!

Allow me to explain.  My desire is to represent my community in a professional, mature, dedicated, honest manner.  This community is diverse.  This community is active.   I believe the citizens want someone they can trust to conduct business effectively.  They need someone focused, passionate and intelligent.

I believe we have had enough of being torn down.  There is so much to be proud of here in the city of Shasta Lake.  We are focused on keeping our community strong.

Together we will continue to work toward a brighter tomorrow.  That is my platform.  Someone you can feel good about representing your beautiful City!

As always, thank you for reading!

 

7 Comments

  1. Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking the time
    and actual effort to make a very good article…
    but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot and
    never manage to get nearly anything done.

  2. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

  3. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you can be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back sometime soon.

    I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

